The Nostalgic Post

Happy spring! All day I’ve been a little dogwood tree losing my mind. It’s been a week of Friday afternoons, actually…every blustery day full of antsiness, anticipation, absentmindedness.

For a Happy New Year post, I meant to write a recap of 2011. That went the way of many a New Year’s resolution. But in my defense, 2011 was particularly jam-packed year. Jam-packed, I tell you! And I have just filed (or been filed down to a worn-out nubbin by) my taxes, which reminded me that having five jobs, finishing my yoga teacher training, moving to a new state, and finding the job of my dreams were all prominent but complex flavors in that jam. Yum… sorry, did I mention absentmindedness yet?

Anyway, I still like the recap idea, so here we go: Spring 2011.

March

Juice-fasted for four days. Started teaching yoga to my first “guinea pigs” (my mother and her friends) and traded yoga lessons for shiatsu massages with a friend’s mother. Taught my housemates how to bake hamantaschen from my grandma’s recipe (and surprised my grandma by mailing her a box of them). Spent blissful hours babysitting the two sweetest little girls on the planet. Saw the cherry blossoms in D.C. (after two failed attempts in years past). Read Being Peace by Thich Nhat Hanh, Niagara River by Kay Ryan, Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse, The Passion by Jeannette Winterson, Abhorsen by Garth Nix, By Cold Water by Chris Dombrowski, Proven Guilty by Jim Butcher . Went to an afternoon “salon” at my old piano teacher’s house–which felt more like my childhood home than the house I grew up in.

April

Cried through much of my sister’s senior cello recital. Had my first piano tuned for the first time. Visited the National Arboretum and had porch party with lots of loved ones on my birthday. Wrote a poem almost every day for National Poetry Writing Month. Performed a 20-min feature at my first public poetry reading. Held a rather controversial Seder. Whisked Jon off on a second “surprise date”–to a Mary Oliver reading in Virginia. Read Colors Passing Through Us by Marge Piercy, Dolls’ House by Neil Gaiman, Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Finished my final yoga teacher training intensive weekend.

May

Heard W.S. Merwin read in D.C. Taught my first professional yoga classes, at Ojas Wellness and Charm City Yoga. Started working on my assists and exam (the other components to the teacher certification). Danced to Swallowtail and Contrastock at an eight-hour-long contradance at Glen Echo. Hosted Naomi for a beautiful week-long visit. Interviewed at HIGHLIGHTS, the magazine I idolized as a child, and was offered the job the same day. Performed at Jon’s NaPoWriMo Retrospective Reading. Joined a CSA. Cheered my sister across the stage as she received her college diploma. Clapped and cried and clapped some more at a Tracy Grammer concert. Read White Night by Jim Butcher, Fun Home by Alison Bechdel, Dream Country by Neil Gaiman. Quit (with relish) the worst job I’ve ever had.

//

Well, this spring is only a few days old, and so far I have: received a rejection slip from a poetry magazine, read The Hunger Games, gone for a run, performed a poem from memory at an open mic night, hosted a close friend for a weekend, and replaced (finally!) the broken and chewed-up blinds in my house. Note to the Zoecat–from now on, chew at your own risk!

She is asleep in my lap and, other than a dainty snuffle or two, does not deign to comment.

Leave a Reply

